Elementary

girls

Mrs. Veith
Kindergarten
sveith@mvcs.net

Miss Ousley
1st Grade
jdousley@mvcs.net

Mrs. Sarver
Academic Advisor
drsarver@mvcs.net

Mr. Panter
2nd Grade
tpanter@mvcs.net

Ms. Brooks
3rd Grade
kbrooks@mvcs.net

Mrs. Fisher
4th Grade
dmfisher@mvcs.net

Mrs. Killam
Art
jkillam@mvcs.net

Mr. Sobers
Physical Education
tasobers@mvcs.net

Mr. Coleman
Music / Band
clcoleman@mvcs.net

kindergarten

MVCS offers a full day kindergarten. Our curriculum is Bible based and incorporates the Common Core National Standards. Technology is provided in all classrooms to enhance the learning experience. Students attend enrichment classes which include: computer, art, physical education, music, and library. Kindergarten students are assessed each year using the Terra Nova Standarized Testing system.

Students entering kindergarten are required to take the Kindergarten Readiness Test (KRT) and have turned 5 by September 30th. By the time your child graduates from kindergarten, the following benchmarks will be introduced:

  • Know that God loves them, the attributes of Jesus (joy, peace, kindness, love, etc.)
  • Familiar with Biblical stories that teach right from wrong, developing morality
  • Write name in print lettering. Recognize and write upper and lower case letters
  • Recognize all short and long vowels
  • Know pre-reading skills such as blends, vowel and consonant sounds
  • Sequence comprehension of stories (i.e. beginning, middle, end)
  • Count and recognize all numbers to 100
  • Know all primary colors and all basic shape structures (squares, triangles, etc.)
  • Follow classroom and hallway behavioral instruction and directions
  • Learn how to share their space an/or personal belongings
  • Learn social interaction with other children (conversations, patience, etc.)

Click Here for Kindergarten Field Trips and Activities

Student Recognition – Kindergarten

Students are recognized weekly as “Champion of the Week”. The Champion serves as the teacher’s helper and receives in class privileges.
At the end of the year, kindergarten achievement is celebrated with a Graduation Program. Students don traditional cap and gown attire to receive their diplomas. Kindergarten graduation is the last day of school.

KINDER_grad

Click picture for video